Kevin Smith’s Tusk

80014857

Must admit, I’m speechless after watching the film Tusk.

The film was on Netflix. I noticed that it was written and directed by Kevin Smith, so I put it at the top of my list.

I watched it.

Now, I can’t sleep.

Logline for Tusk: When a podcaster goes missing in the backwoods of Manitoba while interviewing a mysterious seafarer, his best friend and girlfriend team with an ex-cop to look for him.

How the Logline should read: When a podcaster is abducted, he is carved into a walrus with tusks.

I saw it coming, of course. I don’t know what else I could have been expecting. But… wow. Actor Johnny Depp is in the film. He reportedly performed in Tusk for free.

The film cost $2.7 million to make. It only grossed $1.8 million at the box office. It will probably break even… eventually. Or it will become profitable. This is Hollywood. Anything can happen.

Horrors sell these days. People want to see horrors. The audience loves a great horror.

Tusk is… disturbed. On many levels. Therefore, does that make it a great horror film?

I wasn’t sure whether Kevin Smith meant it as a black comedy or not.

Nope. I think it’s a horror as intended. Although, Smith claims it’s a thriller.

Either way, Smith probably loves that I’m disturbed after watching Tusk.

So, I looked through Smith’s upcoming credits. What’s next?

Moose Jaws.

Logline: Like Jaws, but with a moose.

I. Can’t. Wait.

Thank you, Kevin Smith, for the sleepless nights…

Of course, it’s not as bad as Chucky.

Bonus: If you watch Tusk, make sure you listen to Smith’s podcast which runs during the closing credits after the song. It is worth the wait and you’ll understand how Tusk was made from an idea discussed on his podcast.

Leave a Reply

