“A Deadly Adoption” Will Ferrell and Kristen Wiig

MV5BMTU0NDg3NDIzMl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMjg1NDY5NTE@._V1_SY317_CR118,0,214,317_AL_

Honestly, I can’t figure out whether this Lifetime film “A Deadly Adoption” was a joke on the audience or not.

Logline:  Inspired by true events, “A Deadly Adoption” is a high-stakes dramatic thriller about a successful couple who house and care for a pregnant woman during the final months of her pregnancy with the hopes of adopting her unborn child.

Either Lifetime or my cable provider had a huge problem with my showing Sunday night: the dialogue didn’t match the audio.  So, the characters mouths were moving slightly before the audio of their voice played.  It. Was. Distracting.  All of my other channels were working, so was this intentional?  Did anyone else experience this problem?  It was challenging to watch the entire thing.

Anyway…

The film was “Inspired by True Events,” so maybe Will Ferrell and Kristen Wiig just wanted to dip their feet into a Lifetime movie.  Will Ferrell was also the executive producer on the project.

The strange thing about this project is that I had read it was cancelled.  After my interest was piqued with the initial reports of the movie, they lost me after the project was supposedly cancelled.  Very confusing. But here it is airing on Lifetime in all of its glory.  It airs again tomorrow night on June 22nd, at 1:00 AM.  So, set your recorder.  Hopefully, the audio issue will be fixed by then.

I just couldn’t help but chuckle in places where I probably wasn’t supposed to chuckle.  Most likely, I was chuckling because I’m used to Will Ferrell and Kristen Wiig making me laugh.  It could have been a skit of a Lifetime movie on Saturday Night Live where this would have been hilarious.  It seemed like a complete spoof.

The biggest challenge for me (beyond the audio) was that I couldn’t see the pregnant young beautiful girl falling for Will Ferrell at the beginning.  If you can’t buy into the initial premise, it makes it a little more difficult to buy into the concept of the entire two hour film.  The plot was convoluted and the pacing was slow.  It lost me.  The ending…well, the word ridiculous comes to mind.  True story or not.  The last minute of the family dancing was probably the best part of the movie.  Oh, and the ending credits felt rewarding!

Hiring two SNL celebrities was a smart move by Lifetime, though. The star power and talents of the stars made me click over to Lifetime on the cable dial.  In marketing, that makes all the difference in getting an audience to tune in and watch.  That said… I don’t think I can stomach to watch it a second time.

Leave a Reply

